Font Size: 14 18 24 30 / Show Hotkeys

Content


What can be found on this website?

On the website of the Competence Centre for Videoconference Services (VCC), assistance regarding audiovisual communication in the German Research Network (DFN) is provided. The services offered by the DFN contain the video conferencing service DFNVideoConference and the web conferencing service. The DFNInternet service is required for the use of these services.

The DFNVideoConference service is based on the H.32x-protocol suite. In the field, these protocols are H.320 for ISDN- and H.323 for IP-based connections. Furthermore, the service can be used with the SIP protocol.

For these protocols, that were standardised by the ITU/IETF, there is detailed information available. Many major manufacturers (for example Cisco, Polycom, LifeSize, Sony and others) provide solutions and products in this sector, which were tested by the VCC.

The web conferencing service is based on the Adobe Connect product. It is centrally provided and supported by the German Research Network.

If you have any questions regarding the two aforementioned services, feel free to contact hotline@vc.dfn.de.


What cannot be found on this website?

The Competence Center for Videoconference Services (VCC) is a project by the German Research Network. Its primary task is the support of all academic institutions in Germany which use the DFN services for audiovisual communication.

On our website, there is no information available regarding commercial services, like Skype or GoogleTalk. There are many security issues with this kind of service, that is why they are not supported whitin the DFN.

Schriftgröße: 14 18 24 30 / Hotkeys anzeigen

Generelle Möglichkeiten


Was kann man in diesem Webauftritt finden?

Auf den Seiten des Kompetenzzentrums für Videokonferenzdienste (VCC) werden Hilfestellungen zu den audiovisuellen Kommunikationsdiensten des DFN-Vereins angeboten. Das DFN-Dienstangebot beinhaltet den Videokonferenzdienst DFNVideoConference und den Webkonferenzdienst. Voraussetzung zur Nutzung dieser Dienste ist der DFNInternet-Dienst.

Der Dienst DFNVideoConference hat die Protokollfamilie H.32x als Grundlage. Im praktischen Einsatz sind das die Protokolle H.320 für ISDN- und H.323 für IP-basierte Verbindungen. Auch über das SIP-Protokoll ist der Dienst erreichbar.

Für diese durch die ITU/IETF standardisierten Protokolle werden ausführliche Informationen bereit gestellt. Eine Reihe von Herstellern (z.B. Cisco, Polycom, LifeSize, Sony u.a.) bieten in diesem Bereich geeignete Produkte und Lösungen an, die vom VCC getestet wurden.

Der Webkonferenzdienst basiert auf dem Produkt Adobe Connect. Er wird zentral vom DFN-Verein bereitgestellt und betreut.

Für Fragen zu den beiden vorgenannten Diensten kontaktieren Sie bitte
hotline@vc.dfn.de


Was kann man hier nicht finden?

Das Kompetenzzentrum für Videokonferenzdienste (VCC) ist ein Projekt des DFN-Vereins. Seine hauptsächliche Aufgabe besteht in der Betreuung aller wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen in Deutschland, welche die angeboten DFN-Dienste im Bereich audiovisueller Kommunikation nutzen.

Es werden auf unseren Webseiten keine Informationen zu kommerziellen Diensten wie Skype, GoogleTalk oder ähnlichen Angeboten bereitgestellt. Da mit diesen Möglichkeiten eine Reihe ungeklärter Sicherheitsfragen für die Anwender und Einrichtungen einhergehen, wird deren Einsatz im DFN nicht untersützt.